Cowan Road Elementary School
Griffin, GA
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
51.1 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 59.5 | 61.4 | 51.1 |
| Content mastery | 35.8 | 37.4 | 34.2 |
| Progress | 76.6 | 70.9 | 68 |
| Closing gaps | 50 | 70 | 14.7 |
| Readiness | 72.6 | 74.3 | 74.2 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 29.2% | 22.6% | 21.4% |
| Grade 5 | 28.6% | 28.9% | 39% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 51.1% | 49% | 47.4% |
| Developing | 27.7% | 33.6% | 36.1% |
| Proficient | 20.4% | 15.8% | 14.8% |
| Distinguished | 0.9% | 1.6% | 1.7% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 44.7% | 42.1% | 43.7% |
| Developing | 38.7% | 38.5% | 43.2% |
| Proficient | 15.3% | 17.4% | 11.4% |
| Distinguished | 1.3% | 2% | 1.8% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 56% | 58.3% | 65.8% |
| Developing | 22.7% | 13.9% | 21.1% |
| Proficient | 18.7% | 22.2% | 7.9% |
| Distinguished | 2.7% | 5.6% | 5.3% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
47 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 648 | 639 | 641 |
| Students with incidents | 58 | 58 | 47 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 128 | 143 | 87 |
| Suspended in school | 2% | 2% | 1.1% |
| Suspended out of school | 4.3% | 6.3% | 4.4% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 472 | 563 |
| Suspended out of school | 4.4% · 21 | 6.2% · 35 |
| Suspended in school | 2.3% · 11 | 2.1% · 12 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.2% · 1 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Fringe
Enrollment
561 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino12.5%
White18.5%
Black or African American62.7%
Asian1.2%
Two or More Races4.1%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.4%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130252002194
- District
- Griffin-Spalding County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 561 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 38.9
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24