Skip to content

W G Pearson Elementary

Durham, NC

School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

D grade for 2024–25, score 53.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
GradeDCD
School performance score515953
School achievement score41.553.246.1
Reading and math39.4%49.2%42.4%
English learner progress25.8%Not reportedNot reported
Science, grades 5 and 863%77.6%70%
Math, grades 3–846.6%50%43.3%
Reading, grades 3–832.3%48.3%41.4%
School growth score90.281.380.8
Growth statusExceededMetMet
Math performance gradeCCD
Math performance score555550
Math growth score87.47578.1
Math growth statusExceededMetMet
Reading performance gradeDCD
Reading performance score435549
Reading growth score85.581.880.1
Reading growth statusExceededMetMet

The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.

Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

0.000 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
Reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students3.1353.0770.000

Rate denominators: 2022–23, 2023–24: Final average daily membership; 2024–25: Student population estimate.

Discipline
State and federal reports

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

182.41 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students206.9092.31182.41

Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.

Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.

U.S. Department of Education

Measure2021–222023–24
Enrolled in the fall337324
Suspended out of school3.0% · 104.6% · 15
Suspended in school6.2% · 218.6% · 28
Expelled0.0% · 00.0% · 0
School Profile

Location

City, Large

Enrollment

348 students

Student-Teacher Ratio

11:1

Demographics
Hispanic/Latino29.3%
x
White2.3%
x
Black or African American59.2%
x
Asian0.6%
x
Two or More Races8.6%
x
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
x
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
x
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
Calendar
Year Round
Title I
Y
Public school directory

NCES ID 370126000572

District
Durham Public Schools
Status
Open
School category
Regular School
Charter
No
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
Enrollment
348 students
Teachers (FTE)
31.4

Sources