Benjamin Banneker Hs
Washington, DC
English language arts
85.6% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 396 | 414 | 383 |
| Share | 92.2% | 92.3% | 85.6% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 396 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | <1% | <1% | 1.3% |
| Level 2 | <1% | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Level 3 | 7.1% | 6.5% | 9.9% |
| Level 4 | 55.3% | 47.8% | 42.0% |
| Level 5 | 36.9% | 44.4% | 43.6% |
Math
64.5% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 379 | 381 | 335 |
| Share | 53.0% | 60.9% | 64.5% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 379 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 2.9% | 2.9% | <1% |
| Level 2 | 12.1% | 8.4% | 7.2% |
| Level 3 | 31.9% | 27.8% | 27.5% |
| Level 4 | 47.2% | 51.7% | 53.4% |
| Level 5 | 5.8% | 9.2% | 11.0% |
DC CAPE Levels 4–5 meet or exceed expectations.
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
1.7% out-of-school suspension rate in 2024–25.
Out-of-school suspension rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 582 | 674 | 705 |
| Rate | 2.2% | <1% | 1.7% |
In-school suspensions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 582 | 674 | 705 |
| Rate | 1.7% | <1% | 1.3% |
Expulsions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 582 | 674 | 705 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 537 | 671 |
| Suspended out of school | 1.7% · 9 | 0.3% · 2 |
| Suspended in school | 2.8% · 15 | 0.9% · 6 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
671 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
18:1
Updated 8mo ago
Banneker High School emphasizes developing students’ lifelong learning skills alongside sound moral character and concern for the community, while equipping students with the academic tools needed for excellence and preparation for admission to a four-year college or university. The school also stresses engagement with staff and families, relationship-building to support social/emotional growth, and empowering students for future leadership roles and global competitiveness.
Updated 8mo ago
Benjamin Banneker High School (DCPS) applications are submitted through My School DC; applicants complete the school’s required materials (including essays and recommendations) and are screened by the school rather than placed by a random lottery. (benjaminbanneker.org) Key dates for SY 2026-2027 shown by the school include: application opened December 15, 2025; deadline February 2, 2026; results and initial waitlist positions available March 27, 2026 (the school also listed a virtual open house on January 26, 2026). (benjaminbanneker.org) Requirements listed include report cards (final SY24-25 and SY25-26 first-quarter), two essays (one submitted in the My School DC application and one administered in person), and recommendations from an English teacher, a Math teacher, and a Counselor/Administrator; the school indicates admissions are primarily for 9th grade, with limited 10th-grade entry, and notes placement testing and a required summer institute after admission. (myschooldc.org) Waitlists are managed by My School DC after results are released; offers come in waitlist order, enrolling at a matched school does not remove a student from other waitlists, and selective schools may exclude applicants from waitlists if found ineligible. (myschooldc.org) The school is categorized as a DCPS selective high school with specific admissions requirements/selection criteria, and the published materials do not list separate lottery “priority/preference” categories for Banneker beyond meeting eligibility and completing the screening steps. (myschooldc.org)
Updated 8mo ago
Updated 8mo ago
8:45 AM – 3:15 PM
Updated 8mo ago
The Extended Day Program includes those artistic and creative activities that enrich work and leisure time. (No specific after-school care hours or pricing were listed on the site page referenced.)
NCES ID 110003000153
- District
- District Of Columbia Public Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 671 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 38
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24
- DC School Report Card Assessments · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- DC School Report Card Discipline · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25