Otwell Middle School
Cumming, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
75.1 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 66.2 | 68 | 75.1 |
| Content mastery | 65.8 | 66.1 | 70.3 |
| Progress | 76.2 | 66.7 | 74.3 |
| Closing gaps | 22.1 | 54 | 72.1 |
| Readiness | 82.5 | 83.4 | 86 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 57.3% | 52.5% | 54.7% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 24.5% | 26.7% | 26.3% |
| Developing | 32.4% | 29.3% | 28.6% |
| Proficient | 33.5% | 32.7% | 30.5% |
| Distinguished | 9.6% | 11.4% | 14.6% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 15.5% | 15.8% | 17.1% |
| Developing | 41% | 39.4% | 35.4% |
| Proficient | 27.2% | 28.3% | 28.2% |
| Distinguished | 16.3% | 16.6% | 19.3% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 40.2% | 38.7% | 30.2% |
| Developing | 26.6% | 22.6% | 25.9% |
| Proficient | 23.4% | 29.2% | 31.8% |
| Distinguished | 9.8% | 9.5% | 12.2% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
168 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,082 | 1,084 | 1,107 |
| Students with incidents | 143 | 218 | 168 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 248 | 496 | 345 |
| Suspended in school | 7.1% | 13.3% | 8.6% |
| Suspended out of school | 8.4% | 14.2% | 9.6% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 1,104 | 1,015 |
| Suspended out of school | 5.7% · 63 | 17.3% · 176 |
| Suspended in school | 3.9% · 43 | 14.0% · 142 |
| Expelled | 1.2% · 13 | 1.8% · 18 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
1,027 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino37.9%
White39.5%
Black or African American4.5%
Asian15.1%
Two or More Races2.4%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130222000951
- District
- Forsyth County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,027 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 74
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24