Sweetwater Middle School
Lawrenceville, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
70.3 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 66.9 | 72 | 70.3 |
| Content mastery | 58.4 | 58.6 | 57 |
| Progress | 81.8 | 85.7 | 84.7 |
| Closing gaps | 29.7 | 52.2 | 48.4 |
| Readiness | 81.4 | 83.2 | 81.4 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 57.4% | 57% | 51% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 26.5% | 28.2% | 34.2% |
| Developing | 34.6% | 29% | 28.4% |
| Proficient | 31.5% | 33.7% | 28.2% |
| Distinguished | 7.5% | 9.2% | 9.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 24.8% | 23.7% | 26.5% |
| Developing | 39.8% | 39.5% | 35.7% |
| Proficient | 24.3% | 23.7% | 25.8% |
| Distinguished | 11.1% | 13.2% | 12.1% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 47.2% | 57.9% | 46.5% |
| Developing | 28.1% | 21.5% | 24.2% |
| Proficient | 20.5% | 17.6% | 25.6% |
| Distinguished | 4.2% | 3% | 3.8% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
336 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,657 | 1,685 | 1,620 |
| Students with incidents | 343 | 348 | 336 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 764 | 719 | 576 |
| Suspended in school | 15.1% | 12.8% | 13.6% |
| Suspended out of school | 14.2% | 13.6% | 11.9% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 1,537 | 1,443 |
| Suspended out of school | 12.9% · 198 | 15.7% · 227 |
| Suspended in school | 19.6% · 302 | 15.0% · 216 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
1,441 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino70.2%
White2.9%
Black or African American18.5%
Asian6.2%
Two or More Races2.0%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.1%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130255001144
- District
- Gwinnett County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,441 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 104.5
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24