Salt Lake City, UT · Public
86%
Acceptance rate
1,231
SAT Average
$13,172
Avg net price
26,041
Enrollment
| All fields, 2024-25Bachelor’s 6,135Master’s 2,255Doctoral 855 |
| Bachelor’s 941Master’s 509Doctoral 7 |
| Bachelor’s 826Master’s 28Doctoral 24 |
| Bachelor’s 643Master’s 342Doctoral 42 |
| Bachelor’s 595Master’s 25Doctoral 84 |
| Bachelor’s 500Master’s 236Doctoral 73 |
| Bachelor’s 486Master’s 70Doctoral 19 |
| Bachelor’s 359Master’s 53Doctoral 11 |
| Bachelor’s 338Master’s 325Doctoral 410 |
| Bachelor’s 293Master’s 2Doctoral 3 |
| Bachelor’s 201Master’s 66Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 146Master’s 32Doctoral 26 |
| Bachelor’s 128Master’s 4Doctoral 3 |
| Bachelor’s 101Master’s 6Doctoral 7 |
| Bachelor’s 93Master’s 234Doctoral 3 |
| Bachelor’s 83Master’s 123Doctoral 8 |
| Bachelor’s 65Master’s 12Doctoral 2 |
| Bachelor’s 61Master’s 7Doctoral 3 |
| Bachelor’s 54Master’s 3Doctoral 3 |
| Bachelor’s 52Master’s 105Doctoral 30 |
| Bachelor’s 50Master’s 28Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 46Master’s None reportedDoctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 41Master’s 8Doctoral 0 |
| Bachelor’s 32Master’s 1Doctoral 5 |
| Bachelor’s 1Master’s 6Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 0Master’s 30Doctoral 92 |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 0Doctoral None reported |
NCAA program details
- Primary division
- Division I
- Primary conference
- Big 12 Conference
Projected sponsored sports19
Athletic participation
517 unique student-athletes · 18 varsity teams
Early Action & Merit Scholarship Consideration
Final Application Deadline (Rolling Admissions)
FAFSA due Feb 1
· Apply with Common App or the college's application
Published on-campus price, 2024–25
- Tuition
- $8,461
- Required fees
- $1,159
- Food and housing
- $13,315
- Books and supplies
- $1,240
- Other expenses
- $9,700
- Total
- $33,875
- $23,8692019–2019–20
- $24,2782020–2120–21
- $24,2632021–2221–22
- $26,6802022–2322–23
- $30,6132023–2423–24
- $33,8752024–2524–25
Net price by family income, 2022–23
Students of all incomes paid $13,172 on average. Grants and scholarships covered the rest of the cost.
Net price covers first-time, full-time students who received federal aid and paid in-state tuition.
Need-based aid, 2025–26
- First-years with need-based aid
- 36%
- Average share of need met
- 45%
- Average need-based grant
- $10,870
- Required forms
- FAFSA
Sources
- IPEDS Institutional Characteristics · National Center for Education Statistics · 2025–26
- IPEDS Admissions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03
- Application process · College websites · 2026–27
- NCAA Projected Sports Sponsorship by School · National Collegiate Athletic Association · 2025–26
- Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act · U.S. Department of Education · 2024–25
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- IPEDS Completions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- IPEDS Student Charges · National Center for Education Statistics · 2019–20, 2020–21, 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
Every figure below is read directly from University of Utah’s own reported data, with no scores, ratings, or estimates added. Derived from 5 Common Data Set filings (2021–22 to 2025–26).
University of Utah admitted of applicants, a admit rate. Of those, enrolled, a yield, across 5 years of Common Data Set filings.
University of Utah runs a nonbinding Early Action plan.
The enrolled class is roughly international, and about of its domestic students come from out of state. University of Utah admits in-state applicants at 89.7%, out-of-state applicants at 90.4%, and international applicants at 89.9%.
Enrolled first-years by geography
6,513 first-years
Admit odds by pool
Test scores are considered but not required. SAT or ACT scores must arrive by Apr 1. Of enrolled first-years, submitted an SAT and an ACT, down from 54% in 2021–22.
Some students submit both an SAT and an ACT, so the two shares overlap. They don’t add up to a single “submitted a test” rate.
SAT composite
14% of the class submitted an SAT
Middle 50%
Shape smoothed from reported percentiles and score bands
ACT composite
36% of the class submitted an ACT
Middle 50%
Shape smoothed from reported percentiles and score bands
University of Utah’s enrolled first-years averaged a high-school GPA, among the 98% who submitted one.
High-school GPA
shares of all enrolled first-years
Average 3.64
University of Utah rates 2 factors "very important." Each column reads strongest first.
Academic
- Rigor of secondary school record
- Very important
- Academic GPA
- Very important
- Standardized test scores
- Considered
- Application essay
- Considered
- Recommendation(s)
- Considered
- Class rank
- Not considered
Nonacademic
- Extracurricular activities
- Considered
- Talent / ability
- Considered
- Character / personal qualities
- Considered
- First generation
- Considered
- State residency
- Considered
- Volunteer work
- Considered
- Work experience
- Considered
- Interview
- Not considered
- Alumni/ae relation
- Not considered
- Geographical residence
- Not considered
- Religious affiliation/commitment
- Not considered
- Level of applicant's interest
- Not considered
University of Utah leaves 2 Common Data Set answers blank — each one hidden below with what it would tell you.
Without the rank spread of enrolled students, there’s no top-of-class signal to place a transcript against.
With the pool size hidden, a student’s odds of clearing the waitlist can’t be computed.
Does disclose: SAT / ACT score bands (C9) · Admissions factor grid (C7)
University of Utah's net price after grant aid, by family income. of first-years received need-based aid. The school meets of demonstrated need, split into .
What aid recipients pay, by income
net price
Each figure averages only families who received federal aid in that income band (College Scorecard); $13,172 across all aid recipients. Aid share: 2,242 of 6,313 first-years in the 2025–26 Common Data Set.
How need-based aid is determined
Cost of attendance − expected family contribution = demonstrated need
Forms a family files to be considered
Merit aid reached of the class, or of enrolled first-years. For international applicants, University of Utah offers both need-based and merit aid: nonresidents received aid, averaging .
Waitlist activity, as reported to the Common Data Set.
Offered a place
Not disclosedAccepted a place
Not disclosedAdmitted off waitlist
Not disclosedWaitlist ranked
Not disclosed85.4% of University of Utah’s first-years return for a second year and 63.9% graduate within six. Median earnings ten years out are against of median federal debt, roughly a earnings-to-debt ratio.
Sources
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03