Lawrence, KS · Public
93.5%
Acceptance rate
1,186
SAT Average
$17,365
Avg net price
19,857
Enrollment
| All fields, 2024-25Bachelor’s 4,308Master’s 1,536Doctoral 966 |
| Bachelor’s 915Master’s 348Doctoral 4 |
| Bachelor’s 416Master’s 97Doctoral 520 |
| Bachelor’s 345Master’s 78Doctoral 34 |
| Bachelor’s 324Master’s 37Doctoral 21 |
| Bachelor’s 294Master’s 35Doctoral 9 |
| Bachelor’s 269Master’s None reportedDoctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 217Master’s 26Doctoral 60 |
| Bachelor’s 213Master’s 44Doctoral 29 |
| Bachelor’s 198Master’s 88Doctoral 5 |
| Bachelor’s 190Master’s 18Doctoral 10 |
| Bachelor’s 169Master’s 96Doctoral 23 |
| Bachelor’s 118Master’s 201Doctoral 59 |
| Bachelor’s 102Master’s None reportedDoctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 101Master’s 110Doctoral 1 |
| Bachelor’s 76Master’s 23Doctoral 5 |
| Bachelor’s 63Master’s 212Doctoral 10 |
| Bachelor’s 61Master’s 5Doctoral 4 |
| Bachelor’s 61Master’s 9Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 60Master’s 18Doctoral 30 |
| Bachelor’s 39Master’s 5Doctoral 1 |
| Bachelor’s 31Master’s 45Doctoral 4 |
| Bachelor’s 24Master’s 2Doctoral 4 |
| Bachelor’s 12Master’s 11Doctoral 5 |
| Bachelor’s 6Master’s 9Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 4Master’s 1Doctoral 128 |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 18Doctoral None reported |
NCAA program details
- Primary division
- Division I
- Primary conference
- Big 12 Conference
Projected sponsored sports18
Athletic participation
539 unique student-athletes · 14 varsity teams
Rolling admission
FAFSA due Feb 1
· Apply with the college's application
Published on-campus price, 2024–25
- Tuition
- $10,968
- Required fees
- $1,134
- Food and housing
- $11,358
- Books and supplies
- $1,224
- Other expenses
- $4,124
- Total
- $28,808
- $26,8302019–2019–20
- $25,4762020–2120–21
- $25,5202021–2221–22
- $25,7732022–2322–23
- $27,1322023–2423–24
- $28,8082024–2524–25
Net price by family income, 2022–23
Students of all incomes paid $17,365 on average. Grants and scholarships covered the rest of the cost.
Net price covers first-time, full-time students who received federal aid and paid in-state tuition.
Need-based aid, 2025–26
- First-years with need-based aid
- 44%
- Average share of need met
- 78.4%
- Average need-based grant
- $12,980
- Required forms
- FAFSA
Sources
- IPEDS Institutional Characteristics · National Center for Education Statistics · 2025–26
- IPEDS Admissions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03
- Application process · College websites · 2026–27
- NCAA Projected Sports Sponsorship by School · National Collegiate Athletic Association · 2025–26
- Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act · U.S. Department of Education · 2024–25
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- IPEDS Completions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- IPEDS Student Charges · National Center for Education Statistics · 2019–20, 2020–21, 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
Every figure below is read directly from University of Kansas’s own reported data, with no scores, ratings, or estimates added. Derived from 5 Common Data Set filings (2021–22 to 2025–26).
University of Kansas admitted of applicants, a admit rate. Of those, enrolled, a yield, across 5 years of Common Data Set filings.
No early admission plans appear in University of Kansas's Common Data Set filing.
The enrolled class is roughly international, and about of its domestic students come from out of state. University of Kansas admits in-state applicants at 94.1%, out-of-state applicants at 91.7%, and international applicants at 94.3%.
Enrolled first-years by geography
5,040 first-years
Admit odds by pool
Test scores are required for some applicants. SAT or ACT scores must arrive by Jul 1. Of enrolled first-years, submitted an SAT and an ACT, down from 79.7% in 2021–22.
Some students submit both an SAT and an ACT, so the two shares overlap. They don’t add up to a single “submitted a test” rate.
SAT composite
7.1% of the class submitted an SAT
Middle 50%
Shape smoothed from reported percentiles and score bands
ACT composite
50.7% of the class submitted an ACT
Middle 50%
Shape smoothed from reported percentiles and score bands
University of Kansas’s enrolled first-years averaged a high-school GPA, among the 98% who submitted one. ranked in the top tenth of their high-school class, among the 53% who submitted class rank.
High-school GPA
among first-years who submitted test scores
Average 3.71
High-school class rank
Among the 53% of first-years who submitted class rank. Shares are cumulative — students in the top tenth also count in the top quarter and top half.
University of Kansas rates 1 factor "very important." Each column reads strongest first.
Academic
- Academic GPA
- Very important
- Standardized test scores
- Considered
- Rigor of secondary school record
- Not considered
- Class rank
- Not considered
- Application essay
- Not considered
- Recommendation(s)
- Not considered
Nonacademic
- Interview
- Not considered
- Extracurricular activities
- Not considered
- Talent / ability
- Not considered
- Character / personal qualities
- Not considered
- First generation
- Not considered
- Alumni/ae relation
- Not considered
- Geographical residence
- Not considered
- State residency
- Not considered
- Religious affiliation/commitment
- Not considered
- Volunteer work
- Not considered
- Work experience
- Not considered
- Level of applicant's interest
- Not considered
University of Kansas leaves 1 Common Data Set answer blank — each one hidden below with what it would tell you.
With the pool size hidden, a student’s odds of clearing the waitlist can’t be computed.
Does disclose: SAT / ACT score bands (C9) · Admissions factor grid (C7)
University of Kansas's net price after grant aid, by family income. of first-years received need-based aid. The school meets of demonstrated need, split into .
What aid recipients pay, by income
net price
Each figure averages only families who received federal aid in that income band (College Scorecard); $17,365 across all aid recipients. Aid share: 2,308 of 5,269 first-years in the 2025–26 Common Data Set.
How need-based aid is determined
Cost of attendance − expected family contribution = demonstrated need
Forms a family files to be considered
Merit aid reached of the class, or of enrolled first-years. For international applicants, University of Kansas offers merit aid only: nonresidents received aid, averaging .
Waitlist activity, as reported to the Common Data Set.
Offered a place
Not disclosedAccepted a place
Not disclosedAdmitted off waitlist
Not disclosedWaitlist ranked
Not disclosed85.1% of University of Kansas’s first-years return for a second year and 68.8% graduate within six. Median earnings ten years out are against of median federal debt, roughly a earnings-to-debt ratio.
Sources
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03