Bloomington, IL · Private nonprofit
39.3%
Acceptance rate
1,242
SAT Average
$29,550
Avg net price
1,570
Enrollment
| All fields, 2024-25Bachelor’s 347 |
| Bachelor’s 108 |
| Bachelor’s 51 |
| Bachelor’s 40 |
| Bachelor’s 30 |
| Bachelor’s 18 |
| Bachelor’s 17 |
| Bachelor’s 17 |
| Bachelor’s 13 |
| Bachelor’s 11 |
| Bachelor’s 9 |
| Bachelor’s 8 |
| Bachelor’s 8 |
| Bachelor’s 8 |
| Bachelor’s 6 |
| Bachelor’s 2 |
| Bachelor’s 1 |
| Bachelor’s 0 |
| Bachelor’s 0 |
NCAA program details
- Primary division
- Division III
- Primary conference
- College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin
Projected sponsored sports26
Athletic participation
638 unique student-athletes · 22 varsity teams
Early Action I
Decision released by Dec 15
Early Action II
Decision released by Jan 15
Regular Decision
Decision released by Mar 1
FAFSA due Mar 1
· Apply with Common App or the college's application
Published on-campus price, 2024–25
- Tuition
- $57,500
- Required fees
- $204
- Food and housing
- $13,370
- Books and supplies
- $800
- Other expenses
- $1,700
- Total
- $73,574
- $63,8402019–2019–20
- $65,6762020–2120–21
- $67,1242021–2221–22
- $68,7322022–2322–23
- $71,1342023–2423–24
- $73,5742024–2524–25
Net price by family income, 2022–23
Students of all incomes paid $29,550 on average. Grants and scholarships covered the rest of the cost.
Net price covers first-time, full-time students who received federal aid.
Need-based aid, 2025–26
- First-years with need-based aid
- 81%
- Average share of need met
- 91.5%
- Average need-based grant
- $49,784
- Required forms
- FAFSA
Sources
- IPEDS Institutional Characteristics · National Center for Education Statistics · 2025–26
- IPEDS Admissions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03
- Application process · College websites · 2026–27
- NCAA Projected Sports Sponsorship by School · National Collegiate Athletic Association · 2025–26
- Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act · U.S. Department of Education · 2024–25
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- IPEDS Completions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- IPEDS Student Charges · National Center for Education Statistics · 2019–20, 2020–21, 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
Every figure below is read directly from Illinois Wesleyan University’s own reported data, with no scores, ratings, or estimates added. Derived from 5 Common Data Set filings (2021–22 to 2025–26).
Illinois Wesleyan University admitted of applicants, a admit rate. Of those, enrolled, a yield, across 5 years of Common Data Set filings.
Illinois Wesleyan University runs a nonbinding Early Action plan.
The enrolled class is roughly international, and about of its domestic students come from out of state. Illinois Wesleyan University withholds applicants and admits by residency, so in-state, out-of-state, and international admit odds can't be computed.
Enrolled first-years by geography
539 first-years
Admit odds by pool
SAT or ACT scores must arrive by May 1. Of enrolled first-years, submitted an SAT, down from 33% in 2021–22, and an ACT, down from 31%.
Some students submit both an SAT and an ACT, so the two shares overlap. They don’t add up to a single “submitted a test” rate.
SAT composite
26% of the class submitted an SAT
Middle 50%
ACT composite
8% of the class submitted an ACT
Middle 50%
Illinois Wesleyan University’s enrolled first-years averaged a high-school GPA, among the 99% who submitted one.
High-school GPA
99% of first-years submitted a GPA
Average 3.83
Illinois Wesleyan University rates 3 factors "very important." Each column reads strongest first.
Academic
- Rigor of secondary school record
- Very important
- Class rank
- Very important
- Academic GPA
- Very important
- Application essay
- Important
- Standardized test scores
- Considered
- Recommendation(s)
- Considered
Nonacademic
- Extracurricular activities
- Important
- Talent / ability
- Considered
- Character / personal qualities
- Considered
- Volunteer work
- Considered
- Work experience
- Considered
- Level of applicant's interest
- Considered
- Interview
- Not considered
- First generation
- Not considered
- Alumni/ae relation
- Not considered
- Geographical residence
- Not considered
- State residency
- Not considered
- Religious affiliation/commitment
- Not considered
Illinois Wesleyan University leaves 4 Common Data Set answers blank — each one hidden below with what it would tell you.
Without the residency split, there’s no way to see whether admit rates shift for out-of-state or international applicants.
Without the rank spread of enrolled students, there’s no top-of-class signal to place a transcript against.
Without the GPA spread, a family can’t see where their transcript lands within the class.
With the pool size hidden, a student’s odds of clearing the waitlist can’t be computed.
Does disclose: SAT / ACT score bands (C9) · Admissions factor grid (C7)
Illinois Wesleyan University's net price after grant aid, by family income. of first-years received need-based aid. The school meets of demonstrated need, split into .
What aid recipients pay, by income
net price
Each figure averages only families who received federal aid in that income band (College Scorecard); $29,550 across all aid recipients. Aid share: 435 of 539 first-years in the 2025–26 Common Data Set.
How need-based aid is determined
Cost of attendance − expected family contribution = demonstrated need
Forms a family files to be considered
Merit aid reached of the class, or of enrolled first-years. For international applicants, Illinois Wesleyan University offers both need-based and merit aid: nonresidents received aid, averaging .
Waitlist activity, as reported to the Common Data Set.
Offered a place
Not disclosedAccepted a place
Not disclosedAdmitted off waitlist
Not disclosedWaitlist ranked
Not disclosed84.5% of Illinois Wesleyan University’s first-years return for a second year and 82.5% graduate within six. Median earnings ten years out are against of median federal debt, roughly a earnings-to-debt ratio.
Sources
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03