Chicago, IL · Private nonprofit
54.9%
Acceptance rate
1,296
SAT Average
$19,353
Avg net price
2,812
Enrollment
| All fields, 2024-25Bachelor’s 614Master’s 2,543Doctoral 289 |
| Bachelor’s 216Master’s 431Doctoral 22 |
| Bachelor’s 176Master’s 1,131Doctoral 7 |
| Bachelor’s 106Master’s 75Doctoral 0 |
| Bachelor’s 25Master’s 58Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 21Master’s 22Doctoral 7 |
| Bachelor’s 20Master’s 20Doctoral 2 |
| Bachelor’s 15Master’s 14Doctoral 14 |
| Bachelor’s 11Master’s 331Doctoral 1 |
| Bachelor’s 8Master’s 2Doctoral 0 |
| Bachelor’s 6Master’s 3Doctoral 2 |
| Bachelor’s 5Master’s 0Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 2Master’s 215Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 2Master’s 26Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 1Master’s 47Doctoral 0 |
| Bachelor’s 0Master’s 0Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 153Doctoral 230 |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 13Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 2Doctoral 3 |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s None reportedDoctoral 1 |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 0Doctoral None reported |
NCAA program details
- Primary division
- Division III
- Primary conference
- Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference
Projected sponsored sports19
Athletic participation
304 unique student-athletes · 19 varsity teams
Early Decision (Binding)
Binding
Early Action (Non-Binding)
Regular Decision
June 1 ( for international students living in the U.S. only)
Decision released by Mar 15
· Apply with Common App
Published on-campus price, 2024–25
- Tuition
- $50,636
- Required fees
- $1,750
- Food and housing
- $17,356
- Books and supplies
- $1,240
- Other expenses
- $4,700
- Total
- $75,682
- $68,2622019–2019–20
- $71,1682020–2120–21
- $71,0802021–2221–22
- $71,9102022–2322–23
- $72,9912023–2423–24
- $75,6822024–2524–25
Net price by family income, 2022–23
Students of all incomes paid $19,353 on average. Grants and scholarships covered the rest of the cost.
Net price covers first-time, full-time students who received federal aid.
Need-based aid, 2023–24
- First-years with need-based aid
- 78%
- Average share of need met
- 87%
- Average need-based grant
- $47,812
- Required forms
- FAFSA
Sources
- IPEDS Institutional Characteristics · National Center for Education Statistics · 2025–26
- IPEDS Admissions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03
- Application process · College websites · 2026–27
- NCAA Projected Sports Sponsorship by School · National Collegiate Athletic Association · 2025–26
- Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act · U.S. Department of Education · 2024–25
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24
- IPEDS Completions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- IPEDS Student Charges · National Center for Education Statistics · 2019–20, 2020–21, 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
Every figure below is read directly from Illinois Institute of Technology’s own reported data, with no scores, ratings, or estimates added. Derived from 3 Common Data Set filings (2021–22 to 2023–24).
Illinois Institute of Technology admitted of applicants, a admit rate. Of those, enrolled, a yield, across 3 years of Common Data Set filings.
Illinois Institute of Technology runs two binding Early Decision rounds and a nonbinding Early Action plan. ED applicants were admitted at versus for the regular pool, a edge, and ED admits fill of the class.
The enrolled class is roughly international, and about of its domestic students come from out of state. Illinois Institute of Technology admits in-state applicants at 60.7%, out-of-state applicants at 61.6%, and international applicants at 43.6%.
Enrolled first-years by geography
534 first-years
Admit odds by pool
Test scores are considered but not required. SAT or ACT scores must arrive by Aug 1. Of enrolled first-years, submitted an SAT, up from 39% in 2021–22, and an ACT, down from 20%.
Some students submit both an SAT and an ACT, so the two shares overlap. They don’t add up to a single “submitted a test” rate.
SAT composite
45% of the class submitted an SAT
Middle 50%
Shape smoothed from reported percentiles and score bands
ACT composite
11% of the class submitted an ACT
Middle 50%
Shape smoothed from reported percentiles and score bands
ranked in the top tenth of their high-school class, among the 26% who submitted class rank.
High-school GPA
shares of all enrolled first-years
High-school class rank
Among the 26% of first-years who submitted class rank. Shares are cumulative — students in the top tenth also count in the top quarter and top half.
Illinois Institute of Technology rates 2 factors "very important." Each column reads strongest first.
Academic
- Rigor of secondary school record
- Very important
- Academic GPA
- Very important
- Class rank
- Considered
- Standardized test scores
- Considered
- Application essay
- Considered
- Recommendation(s)
- Considered
Nonacademic
- Extracurricular activities
- Considered
- Talent / ability
- Considered
- Character / personal qualities
- Considered
- Volunteer work
- Considered
- Work experience
- Considered
- Interview
- Not considered
- First generation
- Not considered
- Alumni/ae relation
- Not considered
- Geographical residence
- Not considered
- State residency
- Not considered
- Religious affiliation/commitment
- Not considered
- Level of applicant's interest
- Not considered
Illinois Institute of Technology leaves 1 Common Data Set answer blank — each one hidden below with what it would tell you.
With the pool size hidden, a student’s odds of clearing the waitlist can’t be computed.
Does disclose: SAT / ACT score bands (C9) · Admissions factor grid (C7) · Early Decision applicants & admits (C21)
Illinois Institute of Technology's net price after grant aid, by family income. of first-years received need-based aid. The school meets of demonstrated need, split into .
What aid recipients pay, by income
net price
Each figure averages only families who received federal aid in that income band (College Scorecard); $19,353 across all aid recipients. Aid share: 414 of 528 first-years in the 2023–24 Common Data Set.
How need-based aid is determined
Cost of attendance − expected family contribution = demonstrated need
Forms a family files to be considered
Merit aid reached of the class, or of enrolled first-years. For international applicants, Illinois Institute of Technology offers both need-based and merit aid: nonresidents received aid, averaging .
Waitlist activity, as reported to the Common Data Set.
Offered a place
Not disclosedAccepted a place
Not disclosedAdmitted off waitlist
Not disclosedWaitlist ranked
Not disclosed86.9% of Illinois Institute of Technology’s first-years return for a second year and 72.4% graduate within six. Median earnings ten years out are against of median federal debt, roughly a earnings-to-debt ratio.
Sources
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03