Northridge, CA · Public
93.5%
Acceptance rate
$7,599
Avg net price
32,357
Enrollment
| All fields, 2024-25Bachelor’s 8,037Master’s 1,766Doctoral 57 |
| Bachelor’s 1,437Master’s 124Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 995Master’s 50Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 769Master’s 25Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 684Master’s 28Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 660Master’s 287Doctoral 40 |
| Bachelor’s 543Master’s 96Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 432Master’s 59Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 352Master’s 145Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 347Master’s 23Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 337Master’s None reportedDoctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 323Master’s 168Doctoral 17 |
| Bachelor’s 247Master’s 33Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 193Master’s 23Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 156Master’s 41Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 107Master’s 5Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 88Master’s 3Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 79Master’s 17Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 49Master’s 16Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 44Master’s 162Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 44Master’s 14Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 40Master’s 76Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 32Master’s None reportedDoctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 29Master’s 13Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 25Master’s 345Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 25Master’s None reportedDoctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 13Doctoral None reported |
NCAA program details
NCAA program
California State University, Northridge
- Primary division
- Division I
- Primary conference
- Big West Conference
Projected sponsored sports19
Athletic participation
315 unique student-athletes · 15 varsity teams
Fall 2027 Admissions
· Apply with Cal State Apply
Published on-campus price, 2024–25
- Tuition
- $6,084
- Required fees
- $1,374
- Food and housing
- $13,804
- Books and supplies
- $1,338
- Other expenses
- $3,390
- Total
- $25,990
- $23,6452019–2019–20
- $23,3172020–2120–21
- $23,1632021–2221–22
- $23,7072022–2322–23
- $24,2712023–2423–24
- $25,9902024–2524–25
Net price by family income, 2022–23
Students of all incomes paid $7,599 on average. Grants and scholarships covered the rest of the cost.
Net price covers first-time, full-time students who received federal aid and paid in-state tuition.
Need-based aid, 2024–25
- First-years with need-based aid
- 86%
- Average need-based grant
- $12,854
- Required forms
- FAFSA
Sources
- IPEDS Institutional Characteristics · National Center for Education Statistics · 2025–26
- IPEDS Admissions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03
- Application process · College websites · 2026–27
- NCAA Projected Sports Sponsorship by School · National Collegiate Athletic Association · 2025–26
- Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act · U.S. Department of Education · 2024–25
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- IPEDS Completions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- IPEDS Student Charges · National Center for Education Statistics · 2019–20, 2020–21, 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
Every figure below is read directly from California State University-Northridge’s own reported data, with no scores, ratings, or estimates added. Derived from 4 Common Data Set filings (2021–22 to 2024–25).
California State University-Northridge admitted of applicants, a admit rate. Of those, enrolled, a yield, across 4 years of Common Data Set filings.
No early admission plans appear in California State University-Northridge's Common Data Set filing.
The enrolled class is roughly international, and about of its domestic students come from out of state. California State University-Northridge withholds applicants and admits by residency, so in-state, out-of-state, and international admit odds can't be computed.
Enrolled first-years by geography
5,543 first-years
Admit odds by pool
Test scores are required. SAT or ACT scores must arrive by Jan 15. Submission shares describe only students who chose to submit.
California State University-Northridge’s enrolled first-years averaged a high-school GPA, among the 1% who submitted one.
High-school GPA
1% of first-years submitted a GPA
Average 3.33
California State University-Northridge rates 2 factors "very important." Each column reads strongest first.
Academic
- Rigor of secondary school record
- Very important
- Standardized test scores
- Very important
- Class rank
- Not considered
- Application essay
- Not considered
- Recommendation(s)
- Not considered
Nonacademic
- Geographical residence
- Considered
- State residency
- Considered
- Interview
- Not considered
- Extracurricular activities
- Not considered
- Talent / ability
- Not considered
- Character / personal qualities
- Not considered
- Alumni/ae relation
- Not considered
- Religious affiliation/commitment
- Not considered
- Volunteer work
- Not considered
- Work experience
- Not considered
California State University-Northridge leaves 4 Common Data Set answers blank — each one hidden below with what it would tell you.
Without the residency split, there’s no way to see whether admit rates shift for out-of-state or international applicants.
Without the rank spread of enrolled students, there’s no top-of-class signal to place a transcript against.
Without the GPA spread, a family can’t see where their transcript lands within the class.
With the pool size hidden, a student’s odds of clearing the waitlist can’t be computed.
Does disclose: Admissions factor grid (C7)
Cost of attendance and need-based aid, as reported to the Common Data Set.
What aid recipients pay, by income
net price
Each figure averages only families who received federal aid in that income band (College Scorecard); $7,599 across all aid recipients. Aid share: 4,734 of 5,475 first-years in the 2024–25 Common Data Set.
How need-based aid is determined
Cost of attendance − expected family contribution = demonstrated need
Forms a family files to be considered
Merit aid reached of the class, or of enrolled first-years.
Waitlist activity, as reported to the Common Data Set.
Offered a place
Not disclosedAccepted a place
Not disclosedAdmitted off waitlist
Not disclosedWaitlist ranked
Not disclosed74.4% of California State University-Northridge’s first-years return for a second year and 56.2% graduate within six. Median earnings ten years out are against of median federal debt, roughly a earnings-to-debt ratio.
Sources
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03