University of Louisville
Louisville, KY · Public79.4%
Acceptance rate
1,147
SAT Average
$17,634
Avg net price
14,187
Enrollment
| All fields, 2024-25Bachelor’s 2,838Master’s 1,646Doctoral 563 |
| Bachelor’s 431Master’s 386Doctoral 1 |
| Bachelor’s 396Master’s 142Doctoral 300 |
| Bachelor’s 301Master’s 195Doctoral 24 |
| Bachelor’s 238Master’s 8Doctoral 11 |
| Bachelor’s 226Master’s 426Doctoral 26 |
| Bachelor’s 212Master’s 47Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 171Master’s 66Doctoral 38 |
| Bachelor’s 139Master’s 0Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 129Master’s 26Doctoral 6 |
| Bachelor’s 118Master’s 28Doctoral 0 |
| Bachelor’s 100Master’s 1Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 95Master’s 38Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 70Master’s 170Doctoral 18 |
| Bachelor’s 61Master’s 2Doctoral 3 |
| Bachelor’s 34Master’s 13Doctoral 4 |
| Bachelor’s 32Master’s 5Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 21Master’s 16Doctoral 2 |
| Bachelor’s 18Master’s 3Doctoral 1 |
| Bachelor’s 14Master’s 0Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s 11Master’s 6Doctoral 4 |
| Bachelor’s 11Master’s 5Doctoral 3 |
| Bachelor’s 10Master’s 3Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s None reportedDoctoral 122 |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 55Doctoral None reported |
| Bachelor’s None reportedMaster’s 5Doctoral None reported |
NCAA program details
- Primary division
- Division I
- Primary conference
- Atlantic Coast Conference
Projected sponsored sports23
Athletic participation
610 unique student-athletes · 19 varsity teams
Fall Term
First-time freshmen applications and credentials received after the priority application deadlines listed above will be reviewed on a space available basis.
· Apply with the college's application or Common App
Published on-campus price, 2024–25
- Tuition
- $12,940
- Required fees
- $196
- Food and housing
- $12,576
- Books and supplies
- $1,270
- Other expenses
- $8,132
- Total
- $35,114
- $28,8982019–2019–20
- $29,6782020–2120–21
- $30,2042021–2221–22
- $31,6802022–2322–23
- $33,7062023–2423–24
- $35,1142024–2524–25
Net price by family income, 2022–23
Students of all incomes paid $17,634 on average. Grants and scholarships covered the rest of the cost.
Net price covers first-time, full-time students who received federal aid and paid in-state tuition.
Need-based aid, 2024–25
- First-years with need-based aid
- 67%
- Average share of need met
- 65%
- Average need-based grant
- $16,423
- Required forms
- FAFSA
Sources
- IPEDS Institutional Characteristics · National Center for Education Statistics · 2025–26
- IPEDS Admissions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03
- Application process · College websites · 2026–27
- NCAA Projected Sports Sponsorship by School · National Collegiate Athletic Association · 2025–26
- Equity in Athletics Disclosure Act · U.S. Department of Education · 2024–25
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- IPEDS Completions · National Center for Education Statistics · 2024–25
- IPEDS Student Charges · National Center for Education Statistics · 2019–20, 2020–21, 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
Every figure below is read directly from University of Louisville’s own reported data, with no scores, ratings, or estimates added. Derived from 4 Common Data Set filings (2021–22 to 2024–25).
University of Louisville admitted of applicants, a admit rate. Of those, enrolled, a yield, across 4 years of Common Data Set filings.
No early admission plans appear in University of Louisville's Common Data Set filing.
The enrolled class is roughly international, and about of its domestic students come from out of state. University of Louisville admits in-state applicants at 79.7%, out-of-state applicants at 81.6%, and international applicants at 40.2%.
Enrolled first-years by geography
3,120 first-years
Admit odds by pool
Test scores are considered but not required. SAT or ACT scores must arrive by Aug 18. Of enrolled first-years, submitted an SAT and an ACT, down from 90.3% in 2021–22.
Some students submit both an SAT and an ACT, so the two shares overlap. They don’t add up to a single “submitted a test” rate.
SAT composite
18.2% of the class submitted an SAT
Middle 50%
Shape smoothed from reported percentiles and score bands
ACT composite
84.8% of the class submitted an ACT
Middle 50%
Shape smoothed from reported percentiles and score bands
University of Louisville’s enrolled first-years averaged a high-school GPA, among the 100% who submitted one. ranked in the top tenth of their high-school class, among the 33.4% who submitted class rank.
High-school GPA
shares of all enrolled first-years
Average 3.60
High-school class rank
Among the 33.4% of first-years who submitted class rank. Shares are cumulative — students in the top tenth also count in the top quarter and top half.
University of Louisville rates 2 factors "very important." Each column reads strongest first.
Academic
- Rigor of secondary school record
- Very important
- Academic GPA
- Very important
- Standardized test scores
- Important
- Class rank
- Considered
- Application essay
- Considered
- Recommendation(s)
- Considered
Nonacademic
- Extracurricular activities
- Considered
- Talent / ability
- Considered
- State residency
- Considered
- Volunteer work
- Considered
- Work experience
- Considered
- Interview
- Not considered
- Character / personal qualities
- Not considered
- First generation
- Not considered
- Alumni/ae relation
- Not considered
- Geographical residence
- Not considered
- Religious affiliation/commitment
- Not considered
- Level of applicant's interest
- Not considered
University of Louisville leaves 1 Common Data Set answer blank — each one hidden below with what it would tell you.
With the pool size hidden, a student’s odds of clearing the waitlist can’t be computed.
Does disclose: SAT / ACT score bands (C9) · Admissions factor grid (C7)
University of Louisville's net price after grant aid, by family income. of first-years received need-based aid. The school meets of demonstrated need, split into .
What aid recipients pay, by income
net price
Each figure averages only families who received federal aid in that income band (College Scorecard); $17,634 across all aid recipients. Aid share: 1,976 of 2,964 first-years in the 2024–25 Common Data Set.
How need-based aid is determined
Cost of attendance − expected family contribution = demonstrated need
Forms a family files to be considered
Merit aid reached of the class, or of enrolled first-years. For international applicants, University of Louisville offers merit aid only: nonresidents received aid, averaging .
Waitlist activity, as reported to the Common Data Set.
Offered a place
Not disclosedAccepted a place
Not disclosedAdmitted off waitlist
Not disclosedWaitlist ranked
Not disclosed80.6% of University of Louisville’s first-years return for a second year and 60.7% graduate within six. Median earnings ten years out are against of median federal debt, roughly a earnings-to-debt ratio.
Sources
- Common Data Set · Reporting institutions · 2021–22, 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- College Scorecard · U.S. Department of Education · 2025-10-03